Home > Sections > Classics > Research > Postdoctoral Research

Postdoctoral Research | Classics

UCT Postdoctoral Research Fellowships

The University of Cape Town awards Postdoctoral research fellowships for individuals who have achieved their doctoral degree within the last five years. Fellowships are usually negotiable up to 2 years and are funded by several different sources, including the University's Research Committee (URC) and the National Research Foundation (NRF).

See the University's Postdoctoral research fellowships page

External postdoctoral funding

In addition to UCT-based fellowships, we welcome applications with external funding. Various external/international fellowships are tenable at UCT and we list a selection below:

Banting Postdoctoral Fellowship

Banting Postdoctoral Fellowships in the humanities are funded by the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC) of Canada and available to Canadian citizens or permanent residents of Canada who obtained their PhD from a Canadian university. The Fellowship can be held for up to 2 years. 

See the Fellowship website

Feodor Lynen Research Fellowship

The Feodor Lynen Research Fellowship is funded by the Alexander von Humboldt Stiftung and available to German residents or Germany-based researchers to work with a Humboldt academic host in a country outside of Germany. The Fellowship can be held for up to 2 years. Roman Roth is a Humboldt academic host.

See the Fellowship website

Leverhulme Study Abroad Studentship

The Leverhulme Study Abroad Studentship funds postdoctoral researchers who hold a UK degree and who have been resident in the UK for 3 years at the time of application. The Studentship can be held for up to 2 years.

See the Studentship website

Marie Skłodowska-Curie Actions Individual Fellowship

The Marie Skłodowska-Curie Actions individual Fellowship funds postdoctoral research outside of Europe for up to 2 years. The application must be made jointly with the host institution and has fixed call deadlines. 

See the Marie Skłodowska-Curie Actions website